EAT: Copy cat Chick-Fil-A

Standard

Did you know that you can use both pickle juice AND powdered sugar to make fried chicken?? Neither did I, but you can. It’s delicious. Apparently, pickle juice is the secret ingredient in Chick-Fil-A chicken, and I must say even though it’s been quite awhile since I’ve had Chick-Fil-A, it tasted pretty close to me! I also liked the idea of using powdered sugar because I needed some for a recipe awhile back and all the store had were the big bags. I bought it anyway but as I rarely use it, I’ll probably have it for awhile.

I am not a fan of fast food and hardly ever eat out at all it was nice to find a make-at-home version of this. As I’m contemplating becoming a vegetarian once the chicken in my freezer is used up, this may be one of my last meals including meat.

You can get the recipe from Iowa Girl Eats. She also includes a recipe for Honey Mustard dipping sauce. I’m not a fan of honey mustard, or anything including mustard for that matter, so I didn’t make it but you’re more than welcome to!

I cut the recipe in half so I wouldn’t be eating it ALL week. In the process, I learned that half of 3/4 cup is 1/4 cup plus 2 Tablespoons which is good to know! I almost always halve recipes and sometimes the measurements are a bit complicated to figure out. Luckily, google almost always has my back because while I could do the math myself, I’d really rather not. Sometimes I just wing it, and I haven’t had a major disaster yet. I still used a whole egg though, because how do you really halve an egg? I thought about just eyeballing the beaten egg and pouring about half in, but I didn’t have anything to do with the other half so I just put it all in.

Instead of making it into a fast food type dinner, I decided to make mashed potatoes and green beans to go with it and make it into more of a homemade country dinner. You will quickly learn that my number one favorite food in the world is mashed potatoes. I mixed it up a little and made them with the skin on and added some sour cream. This is partly because I didn’t feel like peeling them, but mostly because I already grated the knuckle of my thumb with a cheese grater this weekend (I was grating cauliflower to make pizza crust) and didn’t want to risk hurting myself further before that cut heals. It wasn’t the classic mashed potatoes, but they were still pretty darn good!

Chelsey

DSC03647

Leave a comment!

