EAT: What happens when you mix shepard’s pie and pot pie…

Standard

I decided I wanted to make a pot pie this weekend and I had some tofu I needed to use up so I decided to try a tofu pot pie. I’d also seen a recipe for a vegetable version of a shepard’s pie that I also wanted to try. Since they were similar and I didn’t want to make both I decided to go for a pot pie filling with mashed potatoes on top with a crust over it all.

I ended up adapting a Light Chicken Potpie recipe I found on The Food Network, only making it vegetarian. I made the crust the same, except I used 1/2 cup of regular all-purpose flour and a 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour. Then I made a lot of changes to the filling and ended up with this:

FILLING
2 cups vegetable broth
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 large onion, finely diced (left out because I forgot to get an onion)
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons whole wheat flour
1/3 cup 2% milk
3 stalks celery, sliced (I left this out as I also forgot celery)
about 7 oz extra-firm tofu
1/2 cup fat-free plain Greek yogurt
2 cups frozen peas and carrots (I got the mixed bag)
1/2 can of corn
Italian seasoning (oregano and thyme)
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
MASHED POTATOES
3 russet potatoes (though 4 would probably have been better)
2% milk
Butter
sour cream
First, start the crust as it needs to chill. I whipped this up in no time thanks to my food processor and stuck it in the fridge to chill.
DSC03656
I peeled and cut up my potatoes (using my handy dandy potato peeler my mother got me for Christmas that Id forgotten about) and put them in a pot to boil while I worked on the filling.
Then I cooked up the tofu in olive oil and added some italian seasoning and onion powder for flavor. Then I added the flour (to the same pot as the tofu) and the broth. Then I worried the tofu would get mushy so I took most of it out. I followed the original recipe’s intructions for adding the milk and then removed from the heat and added the yogurt and frozen peas and carrots. Then I put the tofu back in.
DSC03663
My potatoes were done so I drained them and used a hand-mixer in the same pot to whip them up. I then threw in some milk, butter and sour cream but went a little overboard. I think stiffer potatoes would have worked better for this recipe.
DSC03664
Once it was all ready I poured the filling in a dish, smeared the potatoes on top and covered it with the crust and popped it in the oven. 25 minutes later it was ready.
DSC03670
Now, it was impossible to take a good picture of this. Maybe I didn’t let my filling thicken long enough or maybe I should have added more vegetables or done some more thinking before making this, but my filling was pretty much soup even though the original recipe called for double the amount of broth. As my crust was only on top, there was nothing to hold it together at the bottom. The potatoes also mostly sank into the filling and blended in. You could taste them, but you couldn’t really see them. I put it on a plate and it proceeded to take over the entire plate.
Overall verdict is the taste was good, but this definitely isn’t something to make to impress anyone as it’s super messy. I’m not sure it was worth all the time in the kitchen and all the mess it made. Next time, I think I’ll stick to making one thing instead of trying to make two thing in one 🙂 I did like the crust recipe though!
Leave a comment!

