EAT: Summer Salads

Standard

The weather is finally starting to warm up…well at least we’ve had highs in the high 40s! I’ve been dying for warm weather and itching to just jump on a plane and get lost on a tropical island….since that isn’t going to happen I’m just going to keep dreaming and eating summery foods and pretending summer is already here. Hopefully it will be soon, but the foot of snow we got the last week of March may say differently.

For anyone who’s reading that’s not from Indiana (or surrounding states) the weather here has no rhyme or reason. Snow one day and 60 degrees and sunny the next. Someone posted a facebook status that said “Go home weather, you’re drunk.” which pretty much describes it perfectly.

Anyway, my current addiction is what I’ve dubbed a summer salad. I found these great frozen french green beans which cook up delicious in the skillet, chop up some tomatoes, cucumbers, avocados, strawberries, or any fruit/vegetable I have on hand, throw some feta cheese (or shredded cheese if I’m out of feta), olive oil, balsamic vinegar and some S&P and chow down. Sometimes I add some tofu (or chicken or bacon if I’m not being a vegetarian for the month) It’s so simple I almost didn’t want to post it, but it’s so good.

It’s also great for lunch or dinner though I usually eat it for dinner so I don’t have to lug all the ingredients to work since we only have a mini fridge.

Image

Salad with arugula, spinach, tomatoes, strawberries, green beans, feta cheese, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and crispy wonton strips on top (slice wonton wrappers with a pizza cutter and spray them with olive oil and bake until crispy)

 

Image

Salad with spinach, arugula, shredded cheese (fiesta blend), avocado, tomato, green beans, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, S&P

By the way the dishes these are in are what I call bowl plates because they’re about the size of a dinner plate, flat on the bottom, but the sides curl up like a bowl. They’re perfect for salads! I got these at Target, I’m fairly certain the were 2 for $1 or something close to that.

Leave a comment!

