LIVE: 30 day Yoga Challenge

Standard

A friend of my recently came to visit and while she was here I mentioned that I’ve been wanting to get back into yoga, but I haven’t been able to find a studio nearby that has decent prices or class times I can attend. She told me she had found the 30 Day Yoga Challenge on www.DoYouYoga.com and really liked it. Since I’m a fan of monthly challenges (see my post on Earth Hour), I was game to give it a try!

As soon as she left, I looked it up and because this is a FREE daily yoga challenge, I decided to try it for myself and it’s GREAT! I’m not sure when it first launched, but you can join at any time and they’ll email you a new video every day (they’re also all on YouTube so you don’t have to get them emailed daily and you don’t have to go in order if you really don’t want to). This is a great option for me because I can do yoga in my living room whenever I want and wear whatever I want and I don’t have to worry about being on time for class or paying for it. If you’ve ever found yourself wanting to try yoga, but being scared off by the prices, this is definitely worth a shot! You’ll probably need a yoga mat, but the courses are designed so that you don’t need to buy any other props (blocks, straps, etc…) so it’s a relatively risk-free way to try yoga. If you’re like me, you’ve dabbled in yoga before and have a mat or two laying around somewhere (or maybe know someone who does).

The videos are all relatively short with most falling between 10-20 minutes and each has a focus for the day (yoga for the lower back, yoga for core strength, yoga for runners, learning crow pose, etc…) and unlike a lot of online yoga videos in which I find the instructors boring, I really like the instructor (Erin Motz) for these. She makes sure to give variations of poses so anyone from beginners to someone who’s been practicing for awhile can get something out of these and I also like her sense of humor – she makes it fun. Did I mention it’s FREE? That’s the best part 🙂

I found this at just the right time too, because Erin Motz and DoYouYoga just launched a Kickstarter campaign to expand the 30 Day Yoga Challenge into an online yoga platform complete with hundreds of yoga classes. Their campaign ends in December and has already been completely funded but the cool thing is that while My Yoga Pro will not be free, if you get in early as a backer you can secure a lifetime access pass to it for less than the annual membership will be once it’s launched. I decided to back it early and for $45 I secured a lifetime pass (I believe the annual pass will be around $100). I think this is a worthwhile investment because I really like the instructor and it’s cheaper than one month of classes at a local studio. If you’re interested in finding out more, you can check it out at the link below! I think the $45 level was limited and is now gone, but there are other less expensive levels, or higher ones. Of course, you can always wait until it launches and pay full-price for access, but who wants to do that?

30 Day Yoga Challenge

Kickstarter for My Yoga Pro   

Disclaimer: I am not being compensated to promote this and they have no idea I am writing this, I just really like the Challenge and am looking forward to trying out My Yoga Pro!

Leave a comment!

